Connecticut Government

The Connecticut government is divided into three branches: the executive, legislative, and judicial. The Connecticut General Assembly is the legislature, made up of the Senate and House of Representatives. The governor heads the executive branch. The Connecticut Supreme Court is the state’s highest court.

connecticut government

The Connecticut Constitution provides for a strong executive branch headed by the governor. Connecticut’s executive branch is responsible for carrying out the laws of the state. The executive branch includes the governor, lieutenant governor, comptroller, secretary of state, and attorney general. The executive branch is overseen by the Connecticut General Assembly.

The Connecticut General Assembly is the state legislature, made up of the Connecticut Senate and Connecticut House of Representatives. Members of both houses are elected to two-year terms. The Connecticut Senate has 36 members, while the Connecticut House of Representatives has 151 members. The General Assembly is responsible for passing laws, and the executive branch is responsible for carrying out those laws.

Connecticut’s judicial branch is one of the three co-equal branches of state government. The judicial branch is headed by the Supreme Court. The Supreme Court has appellate jurisdiction over all final decisions of the Superior Court and the Appellate Court. The Connecticut Supreme Court also has original jurisdiction over a limited number of cases, such as cases involving the Connecticut Constitution or questions of Connecticut law.

Connecticut is known as “The Constitution State” because it was the first state to ratify the United States Constitution in 1788. Connecticut is also known as “The Nutmeg State.” This nickname comes from the fact that Connecticut was once known for its production of nutmeg, a spice made from the fruit of the nutmeg tree.

Government of Connecticut State

Official Name: Connecticut

Governor: Ned Lamont

Contact: Contact the governor

Main Address: 210 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, CT, 06106

Phone Number: 860-566-4840

Toll Free: 800-406-1527

TTY: 860-524-7397

Connecticut State Agencies

Attorney General

Consumer Protection Offices

Corrections Department

Education Department

Emergency Management Agency

Election Office

Motor Vehicle Offices

Surplus Property Sales

Travel and Tourism

Social Services